h1

If You’re Going To Win, Win Big

February 17, 2010

How’s your life going? Is it full of joy and free of worry? Do you have everything you need? Do you have confidence you can get anything you want? Or are you one of the many people muddling though, making the best of a bad hand dealt to you, full of debt and other worries? No doubt most of you will have occasional fantasies of the good life you’d be living if you were to win the lottery. Some of you may actually do the lottery and dream big. The chance of winning on the National Lottery, however, is extremely small. Winning the EuroLottery is even more unlikely, as likely as catching a rainbow. Yet somebody does win and when they do, it gives us hope that maybe next time…

The latest Brits to win big are Nigel Page, 43 and his partner Justine Laycock, 40 from Cirencester in Gloucester. They netted a cool £56 million, half the £113 million prize money on the EuroLottery. The other half has gone to a ticket holder in Spain, just in case you’re interested. They are the biggest British Lottery winners to date. They went public and told the tale of how they found out they won. They’ll do the usual lottery winner type things like quitting their jobs, buying a new home, car and pets for the children. Nigel, a sky diving fan is looking to set up a centre in his area with vertical wind tunnels, so others can get the buzz. Nothing too extravagant and from what I read, the money will also go towards helping others. I have to say, if it were me, I would tell no one other than my close family, though it would be hard to explain away a new home and car that suddenly came my way. It would have to be a hell of an inheritance.

Although I fear for them, as the publicity could bring some unwanted side effects to the win, like an avalanche of begging letters, greedy families and fair-weather friends, I really hope they do well with it. They seem to be a really nice couple with their feet on the ground, the shock of actually winning notwithstanding. Only the churlish and jealous would begrudge their win. I wish them the very best of luck

7 comments

  1. It is nice to see nice things happen to nice people by sheer chance. You’re right though, big winnings often end up as such a burden.

    That said, I’m willing to try to shoulder that sort of burden.


  2. I agree with you, and wish them luck too. The inner-city colloquial cautionary proverb is:

    “Mo’ money – mo’ problems.”

    But I think it’s just a test of character. If you have good values, getting more or less money won’t alter that.


    • You’re absolutely right, Mikey. It’s all a test of character isn’t it? That’s probably why I haven’t won the lottery yet, ha, ha. That, and the fact that I don’t participate. This may have a bearing on it.

      On the other hand, I like to think my values are fairly sound, but a little more polishing wouldn’t hurt, so bring it on!


      • Mo’ money – mo problems. I’m sure that was a hip hop tune back in the day. Can’t remember who did it, though.


  3. Mo’ money – mo problems was a Puff Daddy song, back in the day…, or is it P. Diddy now; I can’t keep up.

    I wish the couple the best, with that kind of money if you have problems, just go on vacation!


    • Thanks for that, TSS. I had a look on YouTube after I posted that query and found videos for it. It’s actually the Notorious B.I.G featuring Puff P Diddy Daddy, or whatever he calls himself this week.



Leave a Reply

