15 comments

  1. Those are hysterical ads. I nearly bought some Old Spice just as a way to say thank you. Then I remembered that I would, in fact, be buying Old Spice if I did that.


    • You would indeed be buying Old Spice and you really shouldn’t do that. You’re right. Those ads are great, aren’t they? I’m glad you enjoyed them as much as I did.


  2. I absolutely love the new old spice ad. Thanks for highlighting it – I like it that much, I will be posting on my blog tomorrow citing your blog as source of course. Thank you.


    • You’re more than welcome. I’ve now watched it ten times and it still makes me laugh. I’m serious now. I believe it to be not only possibly the best Old Spice advert, but one of the best adverts ever.


  3. Thanks so much, Pie. I was exhausted from job hunting and really needed this laugh.


    • I was really hoping you’d drop in and see this one, Mikey, because I know you have knowledge and experience of the moving image industry. The ‘making of’ video takes commitment to watch because it’s quite long, but it’s really worth the effort to see how they pulled it together and it makes me happy knowing the CGI usage was probably ten per cent at the most.

      I hope you get a job soon. Hunting for one is an exhausting business.


  4. I wish I’d just watched it before reading your comments/review. I think I’d have enjoyed it even more as your comments sorta prepared me for a surprise and told me too much about the actor and the acting. A case of ‘TMI’?

    On the other hand, without your comments, I wouldn’t have bothered watching. Yeah, I know. Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

    But, most fascinating of all is the fact that the ad is targeted at women. What? If it was left to them, men simply wouldn’t bother? Yeah, probably not.


    • You are truly damned, Thought Bubble 😉

      I assume people will watch the vids before they read the whole thing, but never mind, eh. Hopefully it didn’t spoil your enjoyment too much.


  5. My Daddy used to wear Old Spice. I bought a bottle for my husband and every now and again, I dab just the tinest bit on my finger, to pat against his neck. Nice 😛


  6. I like the Old Spice commercial with Bruce Campbell:

    LOL. Wonderful cheesiness!


    • I never saw that one. I should check it out. Thanks for the link and thanks for visiting my blog. Hope to see you again soon.


      • I’ve just seen the Bruce Campbell one. “Woof!” that was really good. I have to take it for what it is though, because I don’t think he’s such a big name here. But I could be wrong.


  7. This advert is brilliant! I’d never seen an old spice advert in my life before this one came out & i had it down as an old, and I mean OLD, man’s product… but the humour in this advert is so well done, it’s definitely made younger people like me consider buying it for boyfriends and the like.


    • Hello, Gabby. Nice to see you on my blog. You’re right. Old Spice was perceived as an old man’s product, but they’re done a great thing here with this advert (which I’ve not tired of yet). If it’s made you consider buying it, then their job is done. Just make sure you smell it first before you buy.



Leave a Reply

