h1

Royal Wedding Tat Watch – The Wrong Mug On A Royal Mug

March 18, 2011

This piece of tat is delicious.

There are many versions of the royal wedding commemorative mug on sale, and to be honest, they’re as predictable as a banker’s bonus. But there’s one mug out there that’s different from the rest. Can you see what it is that makes this mug unique?

Royal wedding commemorative mug with a picture of the wrong prince

Yes, that’s right. Kate doesn’t know it yet, but according to this mug, she’s due to marry her future brother-in-law, Harry. Now how did this happen? They are Royal and they are brothers, but the full, red hair of one and the rapidly thinning hair of the other should’ve been a clue. That and the fact that there are images of the young lovers everywhere. You’d have had to go some way to get this one wrong, so stand up and take a bow Guandong Enterprises. We salute and thank you for giving us something to laugh about.

As if this whole ‘industry’ couldn’t be any more ridiculous.

11 comments

  1. Ooo, I’ll bet there’s been an angry phone call to their manufacturer in Asia:

    “What you mean, you no want to pay? I put woman and prince on cup. You pay!!!”


    • Lol! That’s superb! I can hear the voice in my head right now as I read this.

      One of the reports said that the company had a UK address! If that’s true, then it’s a shockingly bad state of affairs. But it still gave me a laugh.


  2. Makes you seriously wonder about quality control on *anything* made in certain places…
    Obviously not a solitary person actually checked the first “run” and since the mugs got this far into production (i.e. export, packaging, advertisement etc) for me it beggers the question that if that kind of thing goes on with something like a mug, then horrors, does it also happen with foodstuffs, medicine etc?
    (ack! maybe don’t answer that question, I might be better off not knowing)


    • Don’t ask – then they won’t tell!


  3. Maybe this company knows something the rest of us don’t.


    • That would absolutely kill me if we saw Harry beside Kate at the altar instead of Wills. People around the world would be scratching their heads and companies would be smashing their remaining tat against the wall or slinging it into the sea. The ultimate cosmic joke.

      That was a very good and succinct comment, young man. You’re most welcome to come again and comment when you fancy.


  4. I’m feeling just a bit blue this morning. Why doesn’t my picture accidentally turn up on commemorative mugs or boxes of condoms or anything? You’d think that at least someone would want a mask with my likeness. But no. Not even my mom. I feel hurt.

    But enough about me. I came across something on Twitter the other day, and I thought of you immediately, Pie and Biscuits. Would you be kind enough to review this: http://www.someecards.com/2011/03/22/royal-wedding-refrigerator


    • Your face can be put on a mug (or anything else) easily these days because of printing technology, so if no one will do it for you – do it yourself.

      I’ll check out your link. I see the words ‘royal wedding refrigerator’ is at the end of that url. I’m liking the sound of this already. How can I possibly resist?!


      • O.K., Jacki, I’ve just seen it and I’m now in recovery. My review of this eye-watering piece of tat will be up before the end of the week. My gratitude to you for flagging this up knows no bounds!


  5. Haha. This mug is hilarious! Thanks for a little laughter this monday morning. I found your blog in the forums and clicked. I like your blog, you’ve found a new subscriber. 🙂


    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, Jennifer. You can come back and make as many comments as you like. Welcome to my blog.



Leave a Reply

