h1

Facebook Unliked Chinese Company’s Mark Zuckerberg Doll

March 20, 2011

As a famous, or powerful person, you can have as many awards, plaudits or freebies as you like, but nothing puts your stake in the ground more strongly than an action figure version of yourself. Get one of these and you have truly arrived. Mark Zuckerberg had his own action figure, but didn’t like it. Possibly because the company that made it, didn’t get his permission.

Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook action figure

Pic: M.I.C. Gadget

A Chinese company called M.I.C. Gadget created the Mark Zuckerberg doll, or, as they called it, ‘Poking Inventor action figure.’ The likeness was pretty good, right down to the hoodie, jeans and sandals. And bless ‘em, they included accessories the Poking Inventor could hold such as ‘like’ and err…‘poke’ signs. They’d even been careful to not mention his name or Facebook in the description of the doll. But Facebook went and spoilt the party anyway by threatening legal action and now the dolls, going for $70 apiece, have to be destroyed, accompanied by a grovelling apology.

This company has form. They made a Steve Jobs doll last year and his legal team made them pull the plug on any further production. They called it ‘Pineapple CEO action figure,’ just so you understood it was not actually Steve Jobs, but paying homage to his greatness.

Steve Jobs of Apple computers action figure

Pic: M.I.C. Gadget

I imagine Jobs would’ve been particularly pissed off when he found out they had put out a ‘ninja’ version of him.

Steve Jobs of Apple Computers action figure ninja style

Pic: M.I.C. Gadget

Being a lawyer for M.I.C. Gadget must be the sweetest gig ever.

Only 300 Zuckerberg, sorry, Poking Inventor dolls were produced, so if you have one, you could be sitting on a fortune in years to come – if you don’t mind being sued as you try to sell it.

6 comments

  1. Having seen Zuckerberg’s androidy cover portrait on TIME Magazine, I think the doll looks more human than the human.


    • Lol! I’m going to have to look out for that one. They probably went overboard on the Photoshop. Is that the latest issue, and would I be able to get it here? Actually, I’ll see if the cover is on t’internet.


      • It was the Person of the Year cover, a little while back. Hail, Robo-man!


  2. The fact that the heads of these dolls are more towards the portions of the average newborn baby, gives these dolls a rather spooky look to me.

    Not the case for Steve, but for some celebrities there is probably less plastic in these dolls than in the real person LOL and at least the image IS recognisable. So lets maybe label this one “semi-tat” eh?

    That said, WHO on earth collects dolls of (in)famous people anyway? imagine walking into a room with hundreds of little figures looking at you. Scary thought for me at least (and the thought of having to dust them all, even scarier)

    That said, if it were me with one of the ones already sold, I’d be keeping it quietly locked away safe for a *long* time, definite collectible for the future, even if it only works out so in my kids lifetime.


  3. “For some celebrities there is probably less plastic in these dolls than in the real person.”

    I hear that!

    I have to admit that if I knew about it and had the money, I would’ve bought both of those dolls, as collector’s pieces, and just for the hell of it. A few years ago, I had a phase when I would go to stores like Forbidden Planet and buy figurines/action figures of characters from various films/TV shows. Some of my favourites included (almost) all the main players in Reservoir Dogs, some of the characters from The Matrix and the alien disguised as a beautiful woman in Mars Attack!



Leave a Reply

