h1

Steve Jobs R.I.P

October 7, 2011

“No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be, because death is very likely the single best invention of life. It is life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new. Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.”

– From the Stanford University lecture 2005

Steve Jobs 1955-2011

The black turtle neck jumper and blue jeans will never be seen at conferences again, because Steve Jobs, co-founder of Apple, is dead. The long battle against pancreatic cancer was finally lost. He was taken at the age of 56.

His route to success will be well covered by TV, papers and websites, but I’ll give a summary here. Baby Jobs had a rocky start to life, as he was given away and adopted. He went to college, but dropped out. In 1976, at the age of 21, he launched Apple Computers with Steve Wozniak in his dad’s garage. The introduction of the easy-to-use Apple Macintosh computer in 1984, changed the way people saw a computer, which was previously perceived as a tool for businesses and geeks only. A power struggle with the board, resulted in Jobs leaving apple in 1985 to create a new company called NeXT. In 1986, he bought Pixar, which would produce Toy Story, the first computer generated full length animation nearly 10 years later. Apple bought NeXT in 1996 and Jobs was back on board as interim chief executive (later to become full CEO). He set about rebuilding Apple, which was haemorrhaging money. The candy-coloured iMac by British designer Jonathan Ive, introduced in 1998, was one of the computers in the new pared down range. In 2001 Apple launched the iPod and in 2003, iTunes. The iPod really came into its own in 2004 and from there, the launches of the iPhone and most recently the iPad ramped up the success of the brand and changed the way people use technology. While he was riding the rollercoaster of business, the disease we all hope we’d never have to endure paid Jobs a visit in 2004. He thought he’d beaten that cancer, but it came back with a vengeance a few short years later, and we all know how that ended…

A couple of videos have been doing the rounds since his death.

I don’t remember seeing this advert at the time, but having seen it today, through Facebook, I thought it was brilliant. The words being particularly powerful. The voice belongs to Jobs on this version. The version eventually aired was narrated by Richard Dreyfuss. Think Different.

The other video I was alerted to was this lecture he gave at Stanford University in 2005, urging his young audience to not give up on their dreams and to see opportunities in all setbacks, even death. The quote at the top of this post is from that lecture.

As someone who used to use PCs in the dreaded days of DOS (or dross, as I often called it) before Apple came along, I thank Steve Jobs almost every day, like most people thank the sweet baby Jesus, for enabling this fantastic piece of kit to transform my life.

Rest in peace, Apple man.

5 comments

  1. Thanks Pie for a great post, especially for the “Think Different” clip which was new to me and especially inspiring.
    I’ve been very much challenged by Steve’s words, especially the “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.”
    … that’s not to say that I’m not happy, because I am, but because there are dreams I have that I need to stop just dreaming about and start making happen.
    Steve Jobs untimely death reminded me that I might not always “have time to do it later” and has given me much to think about.
    From genius seeds that this man had inspired I can hope that many new apple trees grow in the dreams, thoughts and actions of people world-wide.
    Couldn’t have said it better either: R.I.P Apple Man.


    • He certainly made me think. I feel there’s a new urgency now, at least for me. I really have to make things happen and not just think about it, or hope that one day “I’ll get round to it.” You wrote about doing 101 things in 1001 days, didn’t you? How’s that going?


      • 101 things in 1001 days is going slower than I would like Pie, because Dr’s say I can expect to still be on crutches until after Christmas.
        Healing is going ok, but it’s slow process. That’s completely normal apparently with the damage I did, but it sucks all the same.
        At least 101 things has challenged me to start “doing”some of the things I want to do rather than just thinking about doing them.
        I’ll be on overdrive to catch up as soon as I’m mobile again LOL.
        I think it would be good for you to set your own challenges too, there’s a time frame and having a list that other can see challenges you to get started sooner rather than later.
        Don’t let the sense of urgency fade, let it spur you into action and take charge of some of your dreams.
        It can only be a win-win situation because the alternative is a lifetime of regrets and “could have beens”.
        This life isn’t the practice run, it’s the one and only chance you get.


  2. Nice post Pie! I love the Crazy Ones! Surprised its never been used by the mental health anti-discrimination movement.

    I suspect you’ve not quite seen everything Steve J and Steve W made… the original 1976 wooden Apple is here: http://www.cbsnews.com/2300-501465_162-10009696.html?tag=page;previous along with some other tasty models. I remember the Apple II Plus and those lovely disk drives. They were among my first experiences of zeros and ones…


    • The ‘Think Different Crazy Ones’ advert should be shown in every school, so those who feel they don’t fit, will be able to use their perceived oddity to create great things, rather than destroy. I had a look at the link you sent me and it made me all nostalgic for the macs I’ve used over the years. They missed out the G4 though. Maybe they thought it was too close to the G3 to put in the gallery. It was entertaining nevertheless.



Leave a Reply

