h1

When Is A Potato Not A Potato? When It’s A Chip!

November 4, 2011

I was working in Croydon last week.

One day I had a sudden craving for chocolate, so I went into a newsagent in my lunch break to get that chocolate fix. While I was waiting to pay, two young women in front of me were having a food conversation with the shopkeeper. He shared an Indian recipe with them, potato being the main ingredient. One of the women pulled a face and said: “I don’t like potatoes, but I do like chips.”

At this point, dear reader, you are more than welcome to take a few moments to ponder on the profundity of that statement.

chips

These are not potatoes. Just wanted to make that clear.

When I reached the counter, the shopkeeper was staring in the middle distance, repeating what the woman had said, as if in a trance. I furrowed my brow in solidarity. He snapped out of the trance and quickly followed with “And I suppose she thinks potatoes grow on trees.” I laughed so loud and so suddenly that he almost jumped back into the cigarette shelf behind him.

Classic.

12 comments

  1. The perceptions of children are fascinating. She might be categorizing them based on their artery-clogging, deep fat fried, reptilian-brain satisfaction quotient; ie chips are fun, potatoes are those stodgy lumps served by grownups at a sit-down.


    • My apologies Mikey. I’m so adult-centric at times, I assume people would know what I mean when I use the word ‘girls’. I should’ve made it clear. The ‘girls’ were young women. That’s why both the shopkeeper and I were left scratching our heads at that statement. If it was a child, it would’ve been unbearably cute and the shopkeeper certainly wouldn’t have made that cutting remark. I’m going to amend it now.

      What you say is correct. Chips are fun to most of us, young, or not. Some adults, sadly, manage to make potatoes and indeed most vegetables an absolute bore. I know that KiwiDutch would’ve found a way to make them so exciting, even that young lady would’ve become a potato lover.


  2. This is so funny I can hear the accent! But I bet she loves crisps as well. Scratching my head as to where she thinks the chips come from . . .


    • Sometimes it’s best not to ask, because you may find out!


      • If she likes crisps, she’d be thrown into cognitive dissonance if she ate them in the US, where we call them “potato chips.”


        • I don’t think her poor little brain could take it!


  3. We might admire her discerning palate. Oh, the power of grease to make everything wonderful!

    Pie, the only reason I haven’t been around lately is because my silly e-mail keeps filtering out notifications of your posts! I’ve explained to my computer more than once that you are definitely not spam, but I’ll just start checking the spam file regularly. It’s good to be back!


    • Don’t worry about it. I’ll be happy to take your comments whenever your computer will let you. I hope everything is going well with you.


  4. Too funny and how can you not like potatoes?? Food of the gods I tell ya!


    • You think it was funny reading it, you should’ve been there!

      Roasted, boiled, mashed with different flavours, jacket with different fillings, sauteed – yay to the potato!


      • I am deeply troubled by this girl’s statement. What have people been doing to potatoes to make them so unpleasant? How can you make a potato taste bad? Are there people not cooking their potatoes before eating? I don’t think I want to know the truth, it’s too much for me to take.


        • I don’t want to be unkind to the girl, but it’s more than possible that chips are the only potatoes she knows. Unless she had a really bad potato experience at school. Thanks for your comment, Denise. Welcome to my blog.



Leave a Reply

