h1

Pie’s 300th Post – I Was At The Paralympics! (Part Two)

September 20, 2012

Technically, this is my 301st post, but as it’s a continuation of my Paralympics experience, it will remain at 300. If you want to have a fight about this, we can take it outside…

So, to recap: I had tried in vain for two weeks to get a ticket for these games, but on the Friday, by sheer good fortune, I was able to watch some wheelchair basketball. Then, at the 11th hour, just when I thought I’d had my fill, I managed to score a ticket for the Saturday, which included a morning session of athletics and the full run of the Olympic Park. Once I met up with Sil, Sassy Bird and True Brit, we headed to the stadium.

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park entrance

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park Stadium

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park band

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park shadows on the ground

Paralympics London 2012 stadium

Paralympics London 2012 stadium steps

Paralympics London 2012 stadium flag waver

The athletics was superb. It’s an amazing thing to watch the human body do what you’d think was impossible. The atmosphere in the stadium was electric. And my little friend (pictured below) enjoyed it too.

Paralympics London 2012 stadium Citroën DS scale model

Say hello to La Petite Citroën DS. She goes everywhere with me, and there she was, in the Olympic stadium, at the Olympic Park. She was a very, very lucky little car.

We mooched around the park for the rest of the day, soaking up the incredible atmosphere where everyone was so friendly, particularly the Games Makers. We checked out the Velodrome and other venues. Everything had that brightness you only get when the sun comes out and the temperature’s high.

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park velodrome

I had never seen our union flag worn in so many different ways. Some of it was eye-wateringly bad, but all of it a sight to behold. I saw one woman pushing a buggy containing her baby and an older reluctant child beside it, dragging herself along. The lady was kind enough to let me take a photo of her. It was a proper love-in at the Olympic Park. You probably would’ve got a shag, if you asked nicely enough. No request was refused.

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park Union Jack family

You needed deep pockets though, because the food and drink was horrendously expensive. The fish and chips, however, was a good size for £8.50 with a choice of either Haddock or Cod. Mushy peas was £1 extra. We all struggled to get through our fish lunch it was so big. We also struggled with the price of a mini bottle of wine that Sil ordered, which just about filled a small glass. £5.50? Yer ‘aving a bubble, mate!

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park lunch

The day was one big laugh: we all got on so well. I was particularly impressed with Sassy Bird, who took no prisoners! Watching her getting exactly what she wanted from the various vendors around the park was truly a masterclass in assertiveness. After going through the massive obligatory tat shop, buying things we will probably never use, we went up to the top of the park with the big screen and watched the athletics until the very end, when Oscar Pistorius won the 400m final.

As we walked through the park, admiring the beautifully lit Orbit tower and stadium, and heading towards Stratford station to go home, a line of cheerful Games Makers were waiting for us, ready to give high-fives. A superb end to a most excellent day.

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park stadium at night

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park orbit

Paralympics London 2012 Olympic Park games makers

I found out, a few days later, other friends had been trying to get tickets for me, but didn’t want to say anything in case it didn’t happen. I felt really cherished. Can it get any better than this? Well, the year ain’t over yet… watch this space!

6 comments

  1. WOO-HOO! Congrats on producing 300 (a/b). These photos are engaging. I could imagine myself there.


    • I guess I did a good job in that case. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I certainly did.


  2. I’m so glad you got to go!

    Plus lucky for us that you’ve passed your 300th post — congratulations. I’ll be enjoying the next 300.

    Nice car, lovely shade of blue.


    • P.S. I was reading an article the other day about how much work it takes to craft a really good blog post and I thought of you. Thanks for your efforts on our behalf.


      • Ooooh, Jacki. You’re making me blush!


    • I hope I can make it for the next 300, because it can be quite a challenge at times to get something out there. But I think that’s true for almost every blogger. I’m glad you like my car. It’s a lovely little thing. It’s been to quite a few places around London. You may be seeing more of her soon…



Leave a Reply

