h1

December 17, 2012

A unique take on the tragedy of Newton, Connecticut, from one of my favourite bloggers, Omawarisan…

Blurt

Those of you who’ve been coming here for a while know that I’ve been a police officer for, well, a really long time.

My colleagues and I tend to minimize what we do. We’ve all got our assigned specialties or things we do because we’re good at them. To say we do them routinely is a disservice to those acts. Perhaps the best way to say it is that we do them well without thinking about what it looks like to our peers and the public.

As an example, I have a particular specialized assignment. It suits me. Other officers ask me how I do it, how I put up with some aspects of that assignment and finish the conversations with “I couldn’t do what you do”.

It strikes me that the person who is saying those things to me might be a detective who investigates fatal traffic accidents, or…

View original post 801 more words

2 comments

  1. Thanks for this Pie. It’s so easy to forget the people who’s “job” it is to deal with these kind of situations. One can only imagine how hard it is for them. To be strong in the face of public scrutiny and for everyone around them. I know a police officer who almost drowned whilst trying (sadly unsuccessfully) to save the life of my cousins finance. One can only imagine what he went through emotionally whilst doing his duty. So here’s to all the responders out there dealing with this tragic situation…


    • You should thank Oma for this. He usually writes with tongue firmly in cheek (go have a look at his blog), but this was written from the point of view of someone who’s a police officer and I have to admit that I hadn’t focused on the responders before reading his piece. Not because I don’t recognise or appreciate what they do, but because you expect them to be there, so it’s not a great surprise. I’ll be paying more attention from now on.

      I’m sorry to hear the story of the officer you know and condolences to your cousin. In that kind of job, you’d always do your best because you want to protect people. Alas, from time to time, your best is not enough.



Leave a Reply

