h1

I Went To The Presidential Inauguration And All I Got Was A Lousy Mime Artist!

January 26, 2013

Barack Hussein Obama was sworn in as President of the United States for a second term on Monday 21st January. This is a fact. What we’re less sure of is whether Beyonce sang the national anthem live… and this became the bigger news of the week! The First Lady’s wardrobe couldn’t beat it. The maturation of the Obama progeny couldn’t divert it. Long after the President stepped down from the podium, put on his Everlasts, got back into the ring and resumed his fight with the Republicans, there are still rumblings. What tomfoolery is this?

Beyonce singing at the Presidential Inauguration 2013

“Mime, schmime! I don’t know what all the fuss is about. Have these people never watched Top Of The Pops?”

Maybe there were technical reasons for her not singing live (and if anyone should know, it’ll be a member of the Marine Corps band). Maybe she needed to protect her voice from the cold. Maybe she gargled a ferret. I don’t know: I’m not a musician. However, I do remember Aretha Franklin at President Obama’s first Inauguration, belting it out loud and clear while wearing a hat that almost swallowed her whole. That’s where you went wrong, Bey: you needed a fascinator.

Aretha Franklin signing at the Presidential Inauguration 2009

The juggernaut that is Lady B is due to sing at the half time show for the Super Bowl. I think a lot of people will be paying extra attention and stifling the urge to call out “Milli Vanilli!” at the first opportunity. A wardrobe malfunction will be just the thing to top it off. Or just the top off.

I’ll get my coat.

8 comments

  1. These manufactured young pop poppets simply don’t match up to the enduring greats of yesteryear! Why, in my young days we didn’t have the help of all this new-fangled technology, we just wound up the gramophone and got on with it!


    • Disgusted of Royal Tunbridge Wells, I bow down to your superior knowledge in the realm of music. Winding up a gramophone would’ve been very hard work indeed. I thank you for commenting on my blog. You are more than welcome to do so again, hopefully in the near future.


  2. As amusing as your way of recounting the incident may be, it’s clear to the experienced eye and ear (moi) that she’s singing live, to a pre-recorded music track. Because I recorded ADR (looping) along with other sound edit duties for 20 years, I can hear if even a single word has been laid into a track. There’s a change in eq. You can’t ever get it to be absolutely seamless. All her throat and breath movements match too perfectly. Most obviously, she takes out her ear monitor mid-performance, because the echo delay from the large speakers is throwing off her timing. There would be no reason to do that if she were miming and not making sound herself.


    • Thanks, Mikey. Personally, it didn’t make sense to me as to why out of all the performances she’s done over the years, she would mime to this one. I was being a bit cheeky because I could not believe the fuss that was made of it, but I’m always grateful for your insight as someone who’s been in the business. And my brothers would definitely be able to discern live from recorded in a performance, being musicians, of course.


  3. “Maybe she gargled a ferret.” stuff of legend Sir.


    • Thank you!


  4. […] I Went To The Presidential Inauguration And All I Got Was A Lousy Mime Artist! (pienbiscuits.wordpress.com) […]


  5. Ah, yes, the Unofficial White House Band’s scandal is surpassed only by the actual White House’s.



Leave a Reply

